	LICENSE APPLICATION – 
Transient / Temporary Retail Food Establishment                        Wis. Stat. § 97.30                                                 
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	P: (715) 369-6111
F: (715) 369-6112
ochd@co.oneida.wi.us
OneidaCountyPublicHealth.org

	To protect, nurture & advance the health of our community
	






September 2023
	ESTABLISHMENT/DBA INFORMATION:

	ESTABLISHMENT NAME:
     
	COUNTY:
     

	SERVICE BASE STREET ADDRESS:
     
	CITY:
     
	STATE:
  
	ZIP:
     

	EMAIL ADDRESS:
     
	ESTABLISHMENT PHONE:
(       )         -       



	LEGAL ENTITY INFORMATION 

	LEGAL ENTITY (such as name of sole proprietor, partnership, LLC, LLP, or Inc.):
     
	COUNTY:
     

	LEGAL ENTITY MAILING ADDRESS:
     
	CITY:
     
	STATE:
  
	ZIP:
     

	CONTACT PERSON:
[bookmark: Text22]     
	TITLE:
[bookmark: Text23]     
	PHONE:
[bookmark: Text24](       )         -       
	EMAIL ADDRESS:
     

	Out of State Operators – If known, list first Wisconsin city/county of operation:
[bookmark: Text27]     



	LICENSE AND INSPECTION FEES – Choose One:

	[bookmark: Check40]|_| Transient Retail - TCS  (Final product DOES require temperature control)                        LICENSE FEE:  $175
      (**This category was previously known as a Temporary Restaurant)

	[bookmark: Check42]|_| Transient Retail - Non-TCS (Final product DOES NOT require temperature control)        LICENSE FEE:  $80

	|_| Transient Retail - Pre-packaged food only (i.e. wrapped ice cream novelties)                LICENSE FEE:  $50

	|_| Inspection Fee Only – Must have current WI Transient Retail – TCS license                    INSPECTION FEE:  $80
|_| Inspection Fee Only – Must have current WI Transient Retail – non-TCS license             INSPECTION FEE:  $40

License or ID number:________________________________          County issuing license:__________________

	Total amount paid:
	Check #:



	Please read carefully before signing

	Information requested on this application must be provided to obtain a retail food establishment license.  Personal information you provide may be used for purposes other than that for which it was originally collected (Wis. Stat. § 15.04(1) (m)).  Operating without a license is a violation of Wisconsin Law. Licenses are not transferable between persons or locations. Licenses expire annually on June 30; unless issued after April 1, which will expire on June 30th of the following year. The license fee is not prorated for partial license years. The Department may inspect premises at any reasonable time.  Missing information may delay the issuance of your license. You are not licensed to operate until the department conducts an inspection. The undersigned hereby certifies that this is a true, complete and accurate application for the Retail Food Establishment license under Wis. Stat. § 97.30.

	Within 30 days after receiving a complete application for a license, the department shall either approve the application and issue a license or deny the application.  If the application for a license is denied, the department shall give the applicant reasons, in writing, for the denial.  

	[bookmark: Text33]     
	     

	SIGNATURE – APPLICANT:
	DATE SIGNED:

	
Please mail application and payment to: Oneida County Health Dept., 100 W. Keenan St, Rhinelander, WI 54501


CLARIFICATION IN LICENSE TYPES

​Transient/Temporary Retail Food Establishment License
A transient retail food establishment is a food establishment that operates at a fixed location in conjunction with a special event and sells or serves food for a period of no more than 14 consecutive days or in conjunction with an occasional sales promotion.
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, or a Local Public Health Department, acting as an Agent to the State, may limit or modify the nature of the food service or the food being served to protect the health and safety of the general public. Transient food stand operators may be limited in terms of type of food served, methods of preparation and storage, the number of persons served or the type of utensils. The requirement of the license and/or inspection is to ultimately ensure that the public is receiving the safest food possible and to prevent foodborne disease outbreaks.
Chapter 97 of the Wisconsin State Statutes requires that person(s) operating a food service establishment have a valid license issued by the Department and/or Agent health department. These license types are transferable from one location to another, meaning that if you have a license from Sheboygan County, you can travel to Marathon County to operate without additional licensing from Marathon County. All local jurisdictions reserve the right to inspect your unit and charge an inspection fee when you are operating within their boundaries.
Where you get the license ​will depend on whether the event is located in an agent health department’s jurisdiction or in an area that is under the State’s jurisdiction.

Mobile Retail Food Establishments
Mobile food establishments are defined by the Wisconsin Food Code as a moveable vehicle, push cart, trailer, or boat which periodically or continuously changes location.

A mobile food establishment requires two licenses: 
· Service Base License: a permanent facility to accommodate the mobile food establishment for servicing, cleaning, inspection and maintenance 
· Mobile Food Establishment License: mobile unit from which food is sold or served 

*License types and fees will depend on the food activities conducted, refer to our handout “How to Determine a License Complexity Category”, located on the “License Application for Retail Food Establishment – Serving Meals, Mobile.”
All mobile retail food establishments and mobile service bases not licensed during the previous year must be inspected before opening for business. If a mobile service base is located in a different jurisdiction from the mobile retail food establishment, the operator of the mobile retail food establishment must first apply for a license ​for the mobile service base in this different jurisdiction. Licensure as a transient retail food establishment does not exempt an operator from licensure as a mobile retail food establishment.
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